wrong time retrieved from system command

Home » Asterisk Users » wrong time retrieved from system command
Asterisk Users 7 Comments

${STRFTIME(${EPOCH},GMT+8,%G%m%d-%H%M%S)}

I use the above command to get the system date and time

it returns 20110321-034329

but it is exactly 8 hours early than the system time when I type date in
linux terminal

Mon Mar 21 19:43:35 HKT 2011

I am looking for help.

CK

7 thoughts on - wrong time retrieved from system command

  • asterisk asterisk wrote:

    I don’t specify timezone when I’m working with EPOCH, what happens when
    you remove it?

    Doug

  • Have you tried “${STRFTIME(${EPOCH},Hongkong,%G%m%d-%H%M%S)}” ?

    $ date ; TZ=UTC date ; TZ=Hongkong date
    Mon Mar 21 10:13:31 EDT 2011
    Mon Mar 21 14:13:31 UTC 2011
    Mon Mar 21 22:13:31 HKT 2011

  • Thanks,

    You give me the right answer.

    On Mon, Mar 21, 2011 at 10:19 PM, Barry Miller
    wrote:

  • Do you have an file (or symlink) in /usr/share/zoneinfo called “GMT+8”? I
    certainly don’t, and I’m not running anything different from the standard
    set of zone files. If you don’t have that entry, then the timezone code
    will use UTC (i.e. no local differentiations).